An unexpected turn of events…

Another friend, another fellow warrior fighting against the evil dragon of Muscular Dystrophy, has passed away. It was so unexpected, I’m still trying to process it. I’m sad and stunned. But at the same time I’m happy for him.

See, I believe in God, and that the human body is not the final destination of the Soul. The Soul is always there. I know my friend Todd believed in God. I know he believed in Heaven.  I know, he is excited for me to come sometime too. And I will happily join him when I die.

I will not remember him as a victim. No, I will recognize him as a hero. He was no victim. He was a warrior. He was a fierce warrior, full of life and determination. full of hope.

He will be missed. Todd, you owe me a one on one match of basketball. we will play it when its my time to come up.

Psalm 23:4

4 Even when I walk
through the darkest valley,[a]
I will not be afraid,
for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff
protect and comfort me.

1 Corinthians 15:54-57

54 Then, when our dying bodies have been transformed into bodies that will never die,[a] this Scripture will be fulfilled:

   “Death is swallowed up in victory.
55 O death, where is your victory?
O death, where is your sting?”

56 For sin is the sting that results in death, and the law gives sin its power. 57 But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ.

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “An unexpected turn of events…
  1. Alyson Boldon says:

    Yes Jake, this world is not our home. Just passing through – happy to be here at the same time as you, though.

  2. Julie Christopherson says:

    Dear Jake,
    Thank you so much for this post. As the mother of another fellow warrior who fought against the evil dragon of Muscular Dystrophy it means so much to hear that you, and my son, are indeed NOT victims but warriors. Jake, you are a wonderful example of faith. You could act the victim, and who would blame you? But, you were chosen special to be this warrior. I also know that Heaven is real. Austin is there. I miss him so much but I am so thankful to know that he is not gone forever, just preparing for us. I have no doubt that Austin met Todd with open arms. And, when our time comes, he will be there.Thank you for the example that you are to so many. I love you and I am thankful for the friendship you have had with Austin. Our family has been so blessed in knowing you and your wonderful family. Julie

Leave a Reply

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com

Join 672 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 14,230 hits
Social Media
Goodreads
