I’m Back

Wow, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted. It’s not because I have writer’s block, it’s because some crazy stuff happened.

I woke up in a hospital bed. I had a tube down my throat, and a tube down my nose. I had a drainage bag connected to my side. And a catheter. I was told I went into septic shock, due to a gallbladder infection. My gallbladder had to come out.

I don’t remember being taken to the hospital. But, I’ve been told my Dad checked on me, and I was speaking babble, and I was expecting him to respond to my babble. So, I was whisked away to the hospital.

I would have died.

I guess many of you visited me the first day, but I don’t remember. I was so sick. I’m thankful I don’t remember that day. I never want to remember.

Another problem I had a mucus in my lungs. I went into shock because of that a few days later. I had a heart attack. I do remember some stuff from that. I saw a man, shadows concealed his body and face. He laughed like a jackal, and ripped me off the bed, almost breaking my hip. I yell and scream. Then he starts pulling me, screaming and laughing more…..then darkness. I then hear a voice, booming, somewhat familiar, “Breath Jake. Keep Breathing.” Over and over and over.

I didn’t want to breathe. I wanted to die.

But then, a voice inside me told me I have more to do. I can’t die now. I start breathing. Slow and weak at first. I feel something go down my throat, sucking away at something…………after  awhile it goes out. Then, after awhile I wake up. Family all around me.

I had a new appreciation for my parents. They are always there for me, no matter what.

After those experiences, things are very different with me. I have a trach tube in my throat, to help me breathe. (I had to relearn how to breathe without having 24 hour air support.) I’m not a mute, I can still talk. And no, I don’t rasp. My voice is still the same.

And I have a feeding tube in my stomach, for tube feeds at night for extra nutrition. Thank God I can still eat pizza.

It’s good to be alive. Good to be back. And thanks to everyone or your prayer and well wishes. It kept me alive and want to be alive. Love you all.

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “I’m Back
  1. brianseidel says:

    I do remember that night, and I don’t want to remember it either… Glad to see you writing again Jake!

  2. Nancy Bair-Johnson says:

    Thanks for sharing this with all of us! I know there was a lot of prayer going on for you and your family during your hospital stay! I look forward to reading more of your blogs! 🙂 Nancy Johnson

Leave a Reply

Join 751 other followers

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com
Goodreads
Blog Stats
  • 14,465 hits
