The friend from 4th Grade

As iron sharpens iron,  so a friend sharpens a friend. Proverbs 27:17 NLT

Very few people have friends that have been friends with them since Grade School. I have been one of the lucky few to have had a friend since Grade School. Many of you may know exactly whom the friend is that I’m talking about. I’m not going to say his name do to the fact that this article is on the Internet.

Anyway, let’s call this friend Java (Due to his weird fascination with coffee.). I met Java in 4th grade. It was after Christmas vacation, and he was a last minute student enrolled at the school. Before he came to my school, I was the only minority in the class, the only guy in a wheelchair. And Java was the only Mexican-American in the class.

So naturally, as minorities usually do, we became friends.

Java and I were able to relate to each other very well. I had no idea what it was like to be one of the only non-white people in the school (‘Cause I’m as white as the whitest white guy there is.). The way I was able to relate to Java was because I was the only one in the class who could relate even remotely to someone treated differently because of race, for it’s a lot like someone treating you differently or pitying you because of disability.

I’m glad God brought me a friend like me. A true friend who felt no pity for me. I am convinced God answered my prayers in bringing Java to Idaho.

That summer, I hung out with Java constantly. I would zoom over in my electric wheelchair over to his house, conveniently located literally right around the corner. I would bring my plastic swords, and other plastic weaponry, and we’d duke it out. We would whack each other until our arms tired out. That is just one of the few of our many escapades.

Then the unthinkable happened; Java had to move. I was heart broken. Most would say that is the end of the story. When a friend moves away at the age of 10 or younger, the friendship is usually nonexistent. End of story.

But……………this story didn’t end. It’s still being written.

The reason the friendship didn’t end was one phrase. “I’ll call you sometime.” Java and I talked almost every day via phone. Thankfully, he didn’t move out of state, so we were able to hang out every so often. It was a miracle he stayed in the same state.

Now, fast forward nine years later, we are still very close friends. We have been through a lot of trials and tribulations over the years, yet we were still and are able to be friends.

Now, Java is in the United States Marine Core. Now, we don’t hang out that much. He is usually off at his base now, learning how to be a helicopter mechanic. Due to technology, I am able to talk with him on Facebook, E-mail. Now we can even play Xbox over the Internet and pawn some n00bs!

It’s like he never left. 🙂

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Life
One comment on “The friend from 4th Grade
  1. Treasure your long time freinds. I have friends I have known since grade school, I am now a grandmother. Those friends will be the first to help you out and the first ones to call you out when you act like an idiot, and help set you on the right path.

Leave a Reply

Join 744 other followers

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com
Goodreads
Blog Stats
  • 14,419 hits
