The Dreaded Break Up

Breaking up is always hard. Whether it be breaking up a relationship, or breaking up with a close friend.

A few weeks ago, I had to tell a friend that we could no longer be friends. I won’t go into why, because the last thing I want to do is offend the person. See, I don’t hate the person, Love the sinner, hate the sin as they say. With that, I refuse to write a hateful post.

The lesson I learned from this ordeal, is to not be afraid. I chose to ignore what was happening for so long, and not say anything because of man’s worst enemy: fear. Even for a man who has stared death in the face, and came back, I still feel fear like everyone else. I am no Tarzan.

I thought about what I would say to that friend for a few days. I wrote out how I wanted to convey my points, and worked to make it not sound angry. I consulted another friend. I prayed. I psyched myself out with my favorite fight songs. Then, I told her I thought we would be better off not being friends. She tried to talk back, to try to convince me to not leave. I ignored it, and haven’t talked to her since.

I felt bad for a few days, and not until recently, I feel free. I feel like a boulder has finally been lifted off my chest. Now, I have hope for a better tomorrow. I feel thankful I have plenty of other friends to talk to. And, I know that experience will never be the first or the last one, and I will be prepared for the next time.

If you are afraid, do what I did. Write out the points of what you want to say, and make it into an essay. Then, practice. And talk to someone you trust, for chances are they have been through the same problem.

The LORD is my light and my salvationso why should be afraid? The LORD is my fortress, protecting me from danger, so why should tremble? When evil peopl come to devour me, when my enemies and foes attack me, they will stumble and fall. Though mighty army surrounds me, my heart will not be afraid. Even if am attacked, will remain confident. The one thing ask of  the LORDthe thing seek mostis to live in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, delighting in the LORDperfections and meditating in his Temple. For he will conceal me there when troubles come; he will hide me in his sanctuary. He will place me out of reach on high rock.–Psalm 27:1-5 NLT

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Life
One comment on “The Dreaded Break Up
  1. Javier says:

    Hey man, I’m really sorry. Sometimes life can be hard, but you gotta keep pressing on. Stay motivated! =)

Leave a Reply

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com

Join 698 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 14,360 hits
Social Media
Goodreads
