Update on my book.

Five months ago I wrote the first draft of a novel for NaNoWriMo. Now, I am almost done with Draft 4! 🙂 After years of writing, I have finally written a full length novel I can be proud of. (If you ever find any of my first novels, burn them or shred them. They were horrible.) I admit, I was filled with dread after I finished draft one. But now with every subsequent draft, the story has become stronger every time.

Some may say “Oh Jake good job! Now you can publish!”. Stop that thought right away! My book still needs some work done.

The next step: get an Editor.

Why? An Editor’s job is to tell you the honest to God truth about your writing. If you just have close friends and family read it, they will say that your book is good, even if it’s bad. (Unless they are not afraid to tell you how it is.)

One thing I have noticed is that many eBooks are very bad books. I have found horrible grammatical and spelling errors. Very big plot holes. And sloppy descriptive language like “The sun was as bright as dog urine.” (OK maybe not that bad, but you get my point.)

The last thing I want to publish is a horrible eBook. When you publish, you need to make sure your writing is the best it can be. Even Stephen King needs an Editor.

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Writing
2 comments on “Update on my book.
  1. Tom Moore says:

    I might be able to edit.

Leave a Reply

Join 753 other followers

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com
Goodreads
Blog Stats
  • 14,500 hits
