The Quest for a Title

The handy “snap” feature in Windows 7. A very good feature for creative types.

I went on Amazon.com the other day to see if the title of my book Shattering of the Sword had already been used. And whattaya know. The title had already been used. It was called The Shattering Sword. Not the exact same title, but nevertheless very similar.

Thankfully my book hasn’t been published yet. If I had published it without checking  on that title, I could’ve been sued.

To come up with a title, I resorted to brainstorming. I made a spreadsheet, and divided the sheet into three columns. Column one for Nouns, column two for Verbs, and column three for Adjectives.

In Fantasy or Sci-fi, a title usually consists of one or more of these kind of words. Like The Lord of the Rings, A Game of Thrones, Dune,   The Golden Compass, e.t.c.

I’ve narrowed down my title choices to four, and I’m having a problem. I can’t decide which one to use.

That’s where you come in.

The reader is the one who reads what authors write. One job a writer has is to attract the reader. So, I have included a poll. If you want, feel free to let me know what title you like. The title you choose will help me decide what title will end up on the final version. 🙂

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Writing
5 comments on “The Quest for a Title
  1. jensine says:

    my my you do seem to a stratagy fot finding a title, i just let it cme to me one day and hope it is still free if and when I get published

  2. James says:

    The Blade in Hiding is definitely the best of the bunch IMO. Good luck with this!

  3. Javier says:

    I think the title should relate closely to the plot, which is about the sword, so the first seems the best choice. I think a few more title ideas would also be good. =)

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join 755 other followers

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com
Goodreads
Blog Stats
  • 14,487 hits
