Remembering 9/11

Back on Sept. 11th, 2001, I was on my way out the door to get on the school bus. As I was on my way out, I saw the first tower get hit on the morning news. I couldn’t stay to watch TV with my parents, but I remember seeing the plane ram into the building. As the driver took the bus to the other stops, kids came on the bus crying and talking about how shocking it was.

At school, we watched the television as President Bush spoke, and even he had a hard time speaking about it. Everyone had a hard time with it.

Even now, 11 years later, it’s still tough for me to watch videos of the first plane hitting the tower without wanting to cry. Especially the images of people jumping off.

I know I shouldn’t be as sad about 9/11, since Usama Bin Laden is dead, and it happened 11 years ago. This effect is like the effect Pearl Harbor had on the Greatest Generation. They may have defeated Hitler and the Emperor of Japan, but people were still saddened and would never forget where they were on that day.

I am not only sad; I am also proud.

Proud of my country. We stand up for freedom, and are not afraid to do so. Even when terrorists attack us, we don’t stop, we keep fighting.

Proud of the people on United Airlines Flight 93, wresting control of the plane and crashing it. They all had the greatest quality any and every American and human respects ; they were willing to sacrifice themselves so that others might live.

I may like reading and writing about heroic battles in Fantasy Fiction, but nothing can be equal to the heroes who fight abroad to keep us safe, and to the heroes willing to sacrifice everything for the ones they love.

God Bless you, and God bless America. Remember 9/11, and never forget.

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Life
One comment on “Remembering 9/11
  1. John Payne says:

    Me too

Leave a Reply

Join 744 other followers

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com
Goodreads
Blog Stats
  • 14,454 hits
