Happy Thanksgiving! :) (Minus the turkey and shopping rush.)

Well, it’s that time of year again! Thanksgiving! 🙂 Every year around this time, we seem to be worried about shopping, or entertaining relatives we never see any other time of year. With being in a wealthy country, we seem to take too many things for granted. (Like, when was the last time you and I were thankful for clean running water?)

So this year, I’m going to put my thoughts in words. In the spirit of this holiday, I encourage you to do the same thing. Your words don’t need to be fancy, or even spelled correctly. It’s the thought that counts.

Thankful for my Country: You only need to watch the news or read the newspaper, to know that this world is downright psychotic. There is War, Famine, Genocide, Totalitarian regimes, and many other dreadful things in this world.  I’m thankful to have been born in a place safe from many of these problems.

The one thing about living in America that I’m most thankful for, is the ability to follow my dreams. No one can stop me from writing, and nobody can stop you from following your dream no matter how crazy or impossible someone thinks it is.

Thankful for Family & Friends: I may not have huge family gatherings, or have tons of friends to hang with, but I’m thankful for what relationships I do have.

On Facebook, my page says I have hundreds of “friends” but how many of those people do I actually speak with on a regular basis? Maybe 5 or 10. I was never a part of the “in” crowd, never in High School, and never in real life…But I would always choose the friends I speak and spend my time with, than hundreds of face I never speak with.

This also applies to family in a way also. I mean, why spend time with family you aren’t close to you, and don’t support you or your parents decisions? I would rather spend time with family that cares, than twenty cousins I never see.

I am thankful for the relationships that mean something.

Thankful for Life: For those rare times when I’m in the hospital, I usually want to die after the first 3 to 4 days. Those days are always when I’m at my all time low. But, by the time I get on the road to recover, my hope comes back. Life isn’t done with this “stubborn bastard” yet. (Yes, after I got my tracheotomy, that was the nickname I gave myself. Awesome right?)

I’ve got places to go, people to see.

Well I hope you have a great Thanksgiving! 🙂 In the meantime, I got more writing and a date with destiny.

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com

Join 672 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 14,230 hits
Social Media
Goodreads
