A Look Back at 2013

2011 and 2012 were pretty chaotic years for me. So I was very relieved that 2013 was pretty quiet. Quiet always beats hospital stays, and ER scares. I went to the ER only once this year, and thankfully I never had to stay overnight.

This year, I also turned 22. Funny thing is, I don’t feel older at all. It sure came fast. Birthdays aren’t as life changing as they seemed when I was a child. Wonder how I’ll feel when I’m 40?

Writing wise, 2013 was a great year. On October 16th, 2013 this blog was viewed 8,377 times, due to someone spreading the word about my blog on imgur. I don’t know who you are AlphaIOmega, but thanks for sharing the link.

On May 14th, I self-published an eBook edition of my short story Demon Stone, which was originally published in Fantasy Short Stories: Issue 1. (This newer version has been extended, revised more, and now has an intro and afterward.)

I went to a Sci-fi Convention with my best friend. Here is the link covering that.

Last but not least, I was able to finish my novel, Blade Of the Broken, and I got an editor! I’ve been going through her notes, and I’ve started working on the files for the print and eBook versions. And currently I’m exploring options for cover art.

Since I’ve been focused on writing, rewriting, and edditing the last three years, I haven’t had much time to figure out how to explain what the novel is about. With most genres besides Fantasy & Hard Sci-Fi, the novels are easier to explain. Case in point, I haven’t been able to explain Lord Of the Rings as well as I could A Christmas Carol. 

Blade Of the Broken is about many things. Yes, there is a quest, however the quest is what throws everyone together. It’s just a plot device. The story is character driven mostly.  The characters were rather personal to me, especially the main one, who happens to be a Ranger (Rangers in this series are like a hybrid between special forces, bounty hunters, and police, but in a Fantasy setting.).

The book above all, is about loss, and dealing or not dealing with it. One can either try to move on, keep it all bottled up inside, or try to fix what they cannot change. My Ranger is trying the fix route. He thinks hunting down evil men will help him move on, when all it does is keep the past alive, and remind him of who he couldn’t save. As the plot moves on, he later finds the past is keeping him from having a future.

Funny thing is, I don’t set out to plant themes in my writing. I don’t really notice these things until after the first few drafts. It was rather organic. But I think the theme of moving on stems from the sepsis scare in 2011. I didn’t start writing till the month after I left the hospital.

I was ready to begin the next chapter of my life; write and publish books. I didn’t want to wallow in self-pity about the past. I would forge a new future.

I hope you have an epic 2014 dear reader, and have a Merry Christmas! 🙂 May your future dominate your life, rather than the past.

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com

Join 672 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 14,230 hits
Social Media
Goodreads
