An Open Letter to Stephen Amell

Dear Mr. Amell,

I’ve been a Green Arrow fan for most of my life. I’ve been reading the comics since I was a child, and admired Ollie’s fighting spirit, even when all the tables are turned against him. And on Arrow, you have portrayed him perfectly, and exposed many more people to the character’s undying heroism.

Funny thing is, people seem to think superheroes don’t exist. But I beg to differ. I’ve been around heroes all my life. Being a man with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, I’ve had 3641577-2320251910-ARROWmany friends with this life threatening, muscle wasting disease.

If you met my friends, you wouldn’t have known they had something that serious. They were some of the happiest people I knew. And like heroes in comics and other mediums, they died fighting till their hearts literally stopped. And they inspire me to keep fighting everyday.

Now, I’m not writing this letter to make you feel pity. I’m writing this letter to you, and my fellow fans of Arrow, to get your help in the battle against Muscular Dystrophy… In other words, I need to borrow your arrows, for this foe would even put Deathstroke down. (No offense to Manu. He plays an awesome Slade Wilson.)

At this time, there are no treatments approved by the FDA. But there are treatments that have been in the testing stage for years now that have helped many people. Unfortunately it’s not a cure, but at least the treatments help stop the progress, and would give people like me more time to live life.

Currently, there’s a petition on Whitehouse.gov to get the FDA to accelerate safe and effective therapies for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. This petition isn’t just for me; its for the many affected by the disease, and future children who will be born with the disease. Here’s the link: https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/urge-fda-say-yes-accelerated-approval-safe-effective-therapies-children-duchenne/qtRww0rN

This is where those arrows I requested would come in handy. We need 65,000 arrows (Signatures.) to get the Whitehouse to see and respond to our request.

Thanks for your time, and may your arrows always fly true.

Sincerely,

A Lifetime Green Arrow fan,

Jake Scholl

Jake Scholl is a Fantasy Writer and blogger residing in Boise, ID. Jake is a big fan of books, comics, heavy metal, movies, and video games. You can buy his novel "Blade of the Broken" wherever ebooks are sold. He is also a member of The Dragon Writers' Collective: http://www.dragonwriterscollective.com/

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

Join 744 other followers

Follow The Writer on Wheels on WordPress.com
Goodreads
Blog Stats
  • 14,419 hits
